Television Review – Skins


Oh, my, my, my.

So BBC America has begun showing this new program, Skins. Well, it’s new to us, anyhow. The third series will be starting up soon in the UK. It’s a series about a group of teenage friends and the various things they do, like sex with various partners and genders, lots of drugs and lots of partying. Needless to say, it’s generated a bit of controversy across the pond.

Controversial <em>Skins</em> promo poster... I wonder where I can get a copy?

Controversial Skins promo poster... I wonder where I can get a copy?

The show is also very good. I’ve only seen the first episode so far and, like all first episodes, it suffers from the problem of having to introduce everyone on the show in the first few minutes. They do this surprisingly well by having one of the main characters (Tony), calling all his friends on their cell phones.

Most of the plot of the episode centered around Tony’s efforts to get his friend Sid’s virginity gone, a notion which young Sid wholeheartedly supports. He’s somewhat disapointed when he finds out the girl Tony has in mind isn’t Tony’s girlfriend (who Sid has a massive crush on), but instead a girl who is best described as a few monoliths short of a Stonehenge.

I'd shag the lot of them. Does this make me a bad person?

I'd shag the lot of them. Does this make me a bad person?

The acting and writing were both top-notch in this episode, which several moments that had me laughing out loud. I’m sure it will probably have its more dramatic episodes as it goes on, and that’s fine with me. Life is comedy, drama and tragedy all rolled into one, after all.

Those who know me well enough will be unsurprised to hear that I’ll be watching the second episode tonight, and unless it’s really vomitizingly awful, I’m sure I’ll come back for more. I mean, how could I not, being who and what I am? ;) I also look forward to the series being released on DVD here in the states (not surprisingly, there’s a lot of stuff that gets censored for broadcast here, since we’re a nation of whinning little babies).

One funny note: this may be the first time I’ve seen a TV series with characters speaking English and that English being frequently subtitled. Ah, the British. They may have invented the language, but they sure can’t speak it. ;)

12 Responses to “Television Review – Skins

  1. Arthur Says:

    You know, it just figures that a review of Skins from you would start out sounding like George Takei with Tourett’s… but you’re right. That is possibly the best way to react to this wonderful little piece of gorgeousness….

  2. Chris Says:

    So I finally got around to watching the second episode. Goodness, what a great show! If you folks aren’t out there trying to watch it, please do so!

    • Allain Bracamonte Says:

      Hey Chris,

      Do you have any idea if they will have like a sort of reunion for the Original casts of Skins..A movie reunion.. I’m freakin’ addicted to the first two seasons and can’t move on with it.

      Please give me an update though..”US” maybe. Thanks!

      • Allain Bracamonte Says:

        And oh I forgot.. to “Fuck it!” this favorit line of Chris…..if you got an update i would surely appreciate it!

      • Chris Says:

        Last I heard there were plans for a theatrical Skins film which would feature a mix of the old and new casts. Dev Patel (Anwar), and Nicholas Hoult (Tony), are both apparently going to be in the movie, though given that Hoult has, according to at least one report, been cast to play Beast in the new X-Men film (check here), I guess we’ll have to see.

  3. Chris Says:

    Hey, Im in the UK and have watched Skins since the first day it aired. It was amazing but unfortunately the cast were ll sacked after series 2 and series 3 features a whole new bunch of characters. Its not good anymore.

  4. Chris Says:

    Well, I saw the trailer for series three. I dunno, hopefully it will be good. I’m really looking forward to series two on DVD, since I missed the last two episodes.

  5. Paul Says:

    There are quite a few who had become so attached to the original cast that they’re not prepared to accept the new cast.
    It would have been extremely difficult, or contrived to carry on with Tony and the gang after they’d all gone off to different universities/places, inc the USA. So a fresh bunch starting their 1st day at the 6th form collage with only Effy and Pandora providing a link is genious.
    Personally I’m loving the new cast and it’s getting stronger and stronger with each ep.

  6. LJ Says:

    I have been downloading season 3 and I think it is just as good as the previous seasons

  7. shavell Says:

    i love skins

  8. Allain Bracamonte Says:

    Hi I’m John,

    I’m from Phil. and I am just seeing Skins through DVD and it just make me run after work just to finish the whole series. Damn Series. Freakin’ Brilliant!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

