Gallifrey Pics!


I’ll have a full written update of all the things I did at the Gallifrey convention, and all the fun I had, but in the meantime, here’s some pics I took!

landscape

First we have the landscape near the border between California and Arizona. I rather like living out in this climate. There’s a certain stark beauty to the desert. Perhaps because it’s so clean?

colin

Then we have Colin Baker, who played the 6th Doctor on Doctor Who! It was pretty interesting meeting him. I didn’t get his autograph because he was charging $20 for it, and I just couldn’t justify paying.

Mind you, he’s changed a bit since the mid-1980’s. Check out this publicity still from the series.

bakercolin

Yeah, bit of a difference. One of my friends summed it up as “Trial of a Time Lard”.

nicola

But what’s a Doctor without his Companion? Say hello to Nicola Bryant, who played Peri during the last Davidson episode and was on the series for almost all of Baker’s time as the Doctor! She’s aged rather well. Sorry about the blur. I was only able to get a pic from a distance while waiting for an autograph. Still, I managed to get a couple of my DVD’s signed, so w00t!

wendy-and-frasier

Next we have Wendy Padbury and Frazer Hines, who played Zoe and Jamie during the 2nd Doctor’s episodes! I really enjoyed these two. They were witty, personable and quite nice! Even in the autograph line (where they were kind enough to sign a couple DVDs for me), they were pleasant and spent a few seconds talking to me, which was quite nice of them.

tardis

Naturally the Doctor had to arrive somewhere! Check out this homemade TARDIS some folks brought along with them. Sadly not bigger on the inside, but still really cool!

homemade-dalek

Here’s a rather nifty homemade Dalek someone made and brought along. It’s not very big and certainly a bit stylized, but I rather liked it. Little did I know there was something more impressive waiting!

torchwood-dalek

A bit of background here. First the two guys are Kai Owen and Garreth David-Lloyd from Torchwood. I’ve watched a few episodes of the series and never really got into it, but whatever.

What’s between them, however, is a Dalek! Not just any Dalek, though. No, this isn’t an official prop. It’s a homemade Dalek someome made and brought with them! It’s completely accurate to the series! The gun and sucker-stick moved, the dome rotated, the lights lit up, etc. I was very impressed.

gabriel

This is the famous Gabriel Koerner, star of such films as Trekkies and Trekkies 2, as well as an Emmy-nominated special effects artist! He’s also a friend of mine and a former roommate. I hadn’t seen him since 2001 and I was very pleased to see him at the con!

rob

Last, on a more personal level, this is my friend Rob, who brought me to the convention. We share many things in common, but one of the most notable is our fondness for Doctor Who! Thanks, Rob, for letting me tag along! We’ll do it again next year, despite what you think right now. :P

I’ll provide more updates tomorrow as to what actually happened at the con! It’s taking me some time to recover. :)

One Response to “Gallifrey Pics!”

  1. Chris Says:

    Whee-hee! I finally learned how to make it so that you can click on the pics and have them display full-size. Knock yourselves out!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 274 other followers

