Gay in Guam


750px-Flag_of_Guam_svg

Guam, America’s overseas territory that most people don’t know exists, is debating Bill 185, which would extend domestic partner benefits to same-sex couples. Naturally the Catholic Church, you know, the greatest force of evil in the world, feels the need to intrude their nose into this.

Sadly, it turns out that the major sponsor of this bill, BJ Cruz, who is openly gay, was himself molested at the age of thirteen by a priest. I really wish that surprised me more.

Even better is the stance of the Archdiocese who felt the need to put out a letter on the subject. Read it closely, especially the part where they talk in admiration about Islamic funamentalists executing people for being gay. Fun times!

The Catholic Church needs to shut the fuck up and stay out of politics! Good luck, everyone in Guam! Make it happen!

Reiche Deutsche Wünschen Höhere Steuern


Euro_banknotes

Ah, the Germans. Probably the closest analogue to Americans that exist on the European continent. They have all the arrogance and swagger we possess, a strong military history, a feeling that they’re better than their neighbors, a capitalist economic system and a strong democracy.

However, they are quite barking mad. I mean, they have universal health care, a strong social safety net and, here’s the really insane part, rich people who want to pay more in taxes!

Yes, you read that right. According to an article on the BBC’s website a group of extremely wealthy Germans have petitioned the government to make them pay more in taxes. They say they have more money than they really need, so why not pay more as a way of helping out others who are less fortunate?

This reminds me of something I ran into, oh, back around 1992 or 1993. I was working at a college kitchen as a dishwasher. One of my coworkers was a German man who told me about how different labor issues were in Germany. He said that once he’d worked at a factory where they were looking at having to fire someone. Instead, the workers got together and agreed to a minor pay cut for each of them so that the would-be fired employee could keep his job. Like many Europeans and more enlightened people, they had the belief that they were all in it together, and helping one another, even if it meant a small amount less in their pay, was a good thing.

Generally I don’t look back in history at Germany and say, “Hey, we could learn something good from this!” but here I do. We can and should be paying higher taxes, especially if we want things like Medicare, Social Security, a military, roads, police, fire departments, schools, libraries and all those other things we like that the government provides.

Oh, and for the record, I’d be willing to pay more in taxes myself.

Grammar Schooling


There’s a school near where I live (and I won’t say the name), that has a big red electronic sign outside their grounds. It has the date/time and all that stuff. It also has a message saying “We Are Highly Achieving!”

Now I’m not 100% sure, but there’s surely some sort of grammar error there somewhere, isn’t there? If there is, I’m not sure what it would be, and I’m not sure how to phrase it to make it grammatically correct. Anyone out there know, cause this is driving me nuts!

Oh, and one quick side note. Clearly the title of this article is a pun based around the term “grammar school”. As recently as 2004, when I was last out job hunting, I remember seeing applications that asked what grammar school I went to.

Well, for the record, I never went to grammar school. I went to elementary school. I don’t think anyone since about 1965 has gone to grammar school.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 259 other followers