Wherein the Future Comes Into Focus…Slightly


I think that I’m basically done with Arizona. I’ll be getting my associates degree in liberal arts at the end of this year, and my plan had been to transfer to ASU to study sociology. But the more I looked, the more I realized that they are not, perhaps, the best school in the nation for that, or any, subject. The best in the country for sociology is Berkley, but since I’m not a billionaire, I can’t afford to live in the Bay Area. What’s the second best school? Universtiy of Wisconsin in Madison. The only Arizona school even in the top 20 is in Tucson. I didn’t see ASU listed in there at all.

Madison also has more liberal politics, more reasonable summers (though winters that are, by my standards, horrible because they exist), and it looks like it’s big enough to have all the amenities of a large city but not be so big that one can get overwhelmed. It’s within easy travel distance to Milwaulkee and Chicago, which is nice because there’s a Doctor Who convention in Chicago every year. And, of course, Wisconsin is the Badger state and the UW-Madison’s team are the Badgers. So there’s that.

The cost of living is a bit higher in Madison than in Phoenix, but on the plus side the unemployment rate is substantially lower (4.8% vs 10%), and as I’ve learned lately, finding work these days is hard enough without being in a place where 1 in 10 people are jobless. I also wouldn’t know anyone there, though one of my best friends has family he visits there from time to time and another friend is majoring in a subject where UW-Madison is the 5th highest ranked school, so he might be tempted to join me on my little move.

Nothing is written in stone on this whole thing yet. I’d say I’m extremely likely to wind up moving in June of next year, but I’m not 100% sure at this point. I will probably be visiting the area in September, which will give me a chance to get a feel for the place and then I’ll be able to know for sure. Plus I’ll aslo be able to talk with people at the school about my transfer plans and the like. It will also give me time to accumulate the roughly $3,000 I’ll need to have in order to pull this off.

So it won’t be fast and it won’t be easy, but with any luck in little less than a year, I’ll be in a new place with a new life and ready for a new school.

4 Responses to “Wherein the Future Comes Into Focus…Slightly”

  1. PiedType Says:

    Best wishes on your exciting plans. I’d take Wisconsin winters over AZ summers any day. I haven’t been in Wisconsin since I was about 15, but I remember it being beautiful and lush, with lots of lakes. As I recall, there’s a sizable lake on the U Wisc campus. Who knows, you may learn to prefer cold to heat if you give it a chance.

    • Chris Says:

      No. I won’t. I used to live in Seattle, remember? Home to 37 degrees and raining for four months of the year. I know from winter and have no interest in it. :)

  2. jamesroom964x Says:

    I’d second Madison. I just finished a degree in sociology, and while it seems like many people look down on the discipline as a “soft science,” I loved it, and it really taught me to think outside the box about the world, which has been invaluable to me. If you’re interested in sociology as a field, go for it!

    • Chris Says:

      I have high hopes. I stumbled into the field while doing my associates, and realized that it’s bascially much of what I already write about on my blog. That helped to show me that I really have an interest in it and can indeed kick ass in the field. :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

