Blu Ray Review – Jackson 5ive The Complete Animated Series


816FBAs84hL._AA1500_

(special thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy!)

In theory I remember watching The Jackson 5ive. It began airing around the time I was born, so I’m sure that at some point when I was a wee lad, I caught it in syndication. I had to have. But I don’t actually remember seeing it before, so maybe I missed it. The good thing is that lets me approach this set without any nostalgia. The bad thing is that it lets me approach this set without any nostalgia.

In this set, you get, on four discs, both the blu ray and DVD version of the complete series. You get every episode with 46 different songs, and a helpful book that helps you locate exactly where each song is, so if you want to watch a specific one, you know where to go for it. This is a good thing, since the music is definitely the highlight of this series.

I will say that the songs on these discs sound just great, and likely sound better than they did when they were first broadcast. The video quality is also excellent, even if the images themselves…well, look, it was the 1970s, ok? Most of us understand that it wasn’t a great time for certain forms of art, and animation is one of those. The whole thing looks exceptionally psychedelic, and not in a good way. Go to YouTube and look at some clips and you’ll see what I mean.

Beyond the animation, the stories are also really strange. In the first episode, for example, we have the boys trying to keep Michael’s pink snake from terrorizing Dianna Ross. And by “pink snake” I mean a snake that is pink, because of course. Michael Jackson also has a pair of pet mice named Ray and Charles because why not. Oh, and the whole thing has a laugh track, because, you know, that makes sense.

What you don’t get, sadly, is anything in the way of special features. Now I’m sure there weren’t a lot of things they could have done in the way of special features here, but surely a commentary or two would have been nice, or perhaps some interviews. As it stands, this creates a package that’s great for kids and hardcore Jackson 5 fans, but not so much for other people.

And I suppose ultimately, that’s how I’ll describe this. It’s for the hardcore Jackson 5 fans for those people who have kids and want to give them something safe and harmless that has a good soundtrack. If you’re looking for anything deeper than that, you’ll be severely disappointed. But if that’s what you want, I’m sure you’ll be happy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

