Media Squeamishness


I’m watching CNN right now. Yeah, I know. But it’s what’s on. Anyhow, Wolf Blitzer just made someone comment about people being killed in drone strikes, saying they are “taken out”.

I hate that phrase.

What’s wrong with saying “killed”? The news media so often go out of their way to avoid using the word, most often using “taken out” in its place. I don’t understand this. I also don’t understand why they continue to say “enhanced interrogation techniques” when they should be saying “torture”. Torture is shorter, and certainly more accurate on a legal and realistic level.

But, whatever, I know this is a losing fight. They’ll do what they do, I’ll bitch about it, wash, rinse, repeat.

3 Responses to “Media Squeamishness”

  1. Susan Says:

    I heard a network newscaster use “efforting” as a word the other day, as in “We’re efforting to get copies of the document right now.”

    I send an email filled with righteous indignation to the network.

  2. Susan Says:

    OK — should have been “sent.” My fingers were flying on the keyboard. Be nice, though, or I’ll start picking at the typos in your blog!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

