To Any Fans of Islam


I am confused by something. I am doing homework on Islam for a religion class, and I’m reading something about Muhammad’s last sermon. In the article I’m reading every time they say his name they add, “Peace be upon him.” I’ve seen this in other places, too, like conversations on Wikipedia pages.

What’s the deal with this? Surely if he was the Prophet of God he’s in Heaven, right? Wouldn’t peace be pretty much automatic at that point? I understand it’s probably custom to add, “Peace be upon him” or “PBUH”, but just why? Can anyone clear this up for me?

One Response to “To Any Fans of Islam”

  1. R Says:

    Hello

    before I answer your questions let us know the meaning of “peace” be upon u علية السلام when we say it after the prophet name

    سلام it means peace and it has been explained that when we ask allah to send peace upon the prophet or grant him peace it means we are asking allah to protect him and grant him safety from all harm, if u say how come u say that while now he is dead , actually praying for safety is not limited to when we are alive because we need safety in the hereafter too from all the terror of the day of resurrection for example when the time to cross the صراط which is a bridge over hell, at that time the messngers will be praying (O Allaah, grant safety, grant safety) in Arabic ْاللهم سَلِّمْ اللهم سَلِّم
    So u won’t face danger only when you are alive
    Sometimes we say peace and blessings be upon him . Here blessings mean that Allah praise him among the close and most elite angels
    Now about your question yes of course he will enter heaven and he will be granted the highest position in paradise called waseelah so now you are asking with all of this rewards why we have to say may peace be upon him? He is a prophet he shouldn’t need that! The answer in short we say this because it is a right of the prophet over his nation the one who brought them from darkness to light, so it is like showing his favour upon us and his great and honourable position and efforts and also to show our respect, true love and believe also our remembrance to him and in order to win many benefits like his intercession and expiate our sins, increase our good deads to submit to the command of God as he ordered Muslims “O you who believe! Send your Salât on (ask Allah to bless) him (Muhammad (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him)), and (you should) greet (salute) him with the Islamic way of greeting (salutation i.e. As¬Salâmu ‘Alaikum)”

    [al-Ahzaab 33:56],

    And there other reasons but I don’t want to make my answer even longer. So u could see that asking allah to send him peace will benefit us too.

    Maybe there could be even more reasons I didn’t pay attention to them but this is what I know and I hope my answer is clear though your post was before to years but I felt it would be wrong to keep in my knowledge for myself.

    By the way I have seen your topics about Islam and u said mecca hasn’t been mentioned in Quran! And i dont know where is your evidence I have read quran many times and I bet u didn’t .it is mentioned and more than one time (11 times) two times by the same name and the other times by other names that mecca famous of

    =) have a good day


Leave a Reply

