The Post Office


Man, those guys do a good job. The mere fact that you can drop a letter into a box with a stamp that costs less than 50 cents, send that letter anywhere in the USA and know that it’s likely to arrive within only a few days is an amazing thing. Seriously, the Post Office kicks ass.

So it’s something of a pity that they’re losing money. Oh, it’s not a surprise. I mean, I can’t remember the last time I actually posted a letter somewhere, but I’m 90% sure it’s been at least 10 years, and maybe more. I pay all my bills online. I don’t send out Christmas or birthday cards to people. I just never really use the mail service for anything other than getting the occasional bill or receiving packages from Amazon.

I’m not alone in this, which is why the Post Office has lost billions every year for the last few years and will likely continue to lose billions more. It’s just not a viable business in this day and age, and that’s part of why they’re cutting back on Saturday deliveries starting in August.

I am perfectly fine with that, though I would prefer it if we simply streamlined the organization a bit more and accepted that it is going to have to be run at a loss for the rest of history. The government should provide it just like libraries are provided, and should do so with no expectation of making a profit.

Now I’m aware there are those who disagree and would love to see the whole thing privatized. I disagree. Having a strong national postal service is one of those things that makes us a great country, and I want us to continue to have one.

Leave a Reply

