A Plea for Tech Support Help


I have a Roku 2 XS which I love dearly. I use it almost daily to watch Amazon Instant Video titles and I really enjoy having it. It’s a great little device. I currently have it connected to my surround sound system, and for over a year-and-a-half, things have been hunky doory.

They are no longer so.

Last week the surround sound stopped working when I streamed titles. I still get the sound effects playing when I’m on the menus, but the titles themselves don’t have workable surround sound. It initially appeared to be isolated to HD titles only, with surround sound working for SD titles, and I can play them through the speakers on my TV still. I noticed this problem on Amazon, so I tested it out on HBO Go, and the problem continued. I figured there might be a software error, so I did a factory reset on the Roku. This did not fix the problem. I next reseated all the cables and cycled power to the receiver. No change.

My next step was to confirm the receiver functioned normally. I made sure that I get surround sound when I play blu ray titles, so I swapped connections around to use the same port the blu ray player uses. No change. I have a second Roku in the house, so I took that one and swapped it with this one. No change. I thought the problem might be with my internet speed, since I have noticed that things seem to be buffering slower than usual. I did a full power cycle to the router and modem with no change. I also called my ISP and upgraded the speed with no change.

At this point I’m out of ideas. It can’t be the Roku, since both boxes exhibit the seem behavior. It can’t be the surround sound system, since I get surround sound on a couple of HD titles, but not most, and get it on almost, but not all, SD titles, and the surround sound system plays normally with the blu ray player, plus I get the sound effects. It can’t be the ISP, since that wouldn’t explain why it works with some titles, but not with others (though the speed still seems slow when buffering). It can’t be the channels themselves, since the problem happens with HBO Go and with Amazon both. I’m really at my wit’s end here.

I know lots of smart people read my blog, so I thought I’d put this out as a general appeal. Does anyone have any suggestions for anything I can try, but haven’t?

One Response to “A Plea for Tech Support Help”

  1. Chris Says:

    So I may have found a stupid solution to this. I wound up resetting the audio setting from 5.1 to simple stereo. And now my 5.1 is working. Argh, argh, argh.


Leave a Reply

