The Grand Experiment


My new source of TV love.

My new source of TV love.

So I’d meant to blog about this earlier, but events in the world got in the way. Anyhow, I’ve started a grand experiment.

I’ve gotten rid of my cable TV service.

And I haven’t replaced it with Dish or something like that. No, it’s gone entirely. The reason for this is that I really can’t afford it for right now. Also, when I move at the end of the month, I’ll be living in a place where the landlady is providing internet. So I got to thinking that perhaps I could just get rid of cable, get an over-the-air antenna and subscribe to Hulu. I have done these things.

It’s been about a week now, and I must say that the experiment is a success. The antenna gets about 60 channels locally, though at least half are religious, shopping, Spanish language, or all three. Hulu gives me almost every show I want the day after it airs. For the shows I can’t get from there, like The Simpsons, I can get a season pass through Amazon Instant Video. Sure, it’s $3 per episode, but even if I buy ten TV episodes a month, that’s still way cheaper than what I was paying for a single month of cable ($140, in case you were wondering, $60 of which is internet). I also have Netflix which is giving me access to things like House of Cards. Do I enjoy this? You might think that. I couldn’t possibly comment.

I’m going to continue this experiment through the summer, when I’ll need to save money anyhow. After that, we’ll see. For now, though, I’m quite, quite pleased.

2 Responses to “The Grand Experiment”

  1. Uncle Tim Says:

    I’d like to know how this works out for you in the long run. We spend a lot for cable (3 TV/3 Tivos) and it would be nice to at least cut that in half.


Leave a Reply

