Toy Review – KRE-O USS Enterprise


91FAUYBEysL._SL1500_

“Well,” I though to myself, looking at the product I’d (mostly) assembled. “That was a thing.”

It is indeed a thing. Not a great thing. Not by any means. In the back of my mind the entire time I was putting this together, I kept thinking that LEGO could have done a much better job. But I have to review what I have, and not what I want, so here we go.

This is a toy that, when assembled, looks mostly like the Enterprise from the two most recent Trek movies. That is a fact. It’s a pain to put together. That is also a fact. Another really, really annoying fact is that the “lid” on the saucer section doesn’t fit right. That’s a fact, and shouldn’t be.

I get the impression this was very rushed, and that parts were added to pad out the part count and increase the price. The whole thing feels very cheaply made and takes way too much effort to put together. And this is from someone who voluntarily assembled the LEGO Creator Grand Emporium.

I will say that one area where this wins hands down is in the minifigures, which are far more articulated than those produced by LEGO, so well done there, KRE-O.

Really, if you’re a die-hard Trekkie and not that concerned about the quality of the toy, this isn’t a bad purchase. But if you like building things, you can find way better products elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

