A Bad Day for…Well, a Lot of People


For the family of a boy who died while playing football. For the fellow students at his school. Certainly for him, as well, and also it’s a bad day for football.

I’ve written about this before, and this is exactly the kind of thing I predicted back then. The more that we learn about football, the more dangerous we learn that it is. We learn that there seems to be no real safe way to tackle someone. We learn that when you have two people, who are fairly massive, that collide at speed, all the helmets in the world won’t stop the brain from bashing against the inside of the skull.

The more people learn, the less inclined they will be to let their kids play football. I know if I had any kids, I wouldn’t allow them to play the game. I’m sure I’m not alone. That means an eventual possible end to football at the elementary, middle school and high school levels. If those go down, that means an end to college football. That, in turn, screws over the NFL.

Lest you think I’m exaggerating the dangers because I dislike football, let me point you toward this episode of Frontline which discussed the issue in great depth.

Leave a Reply

