A New Year, a New Problem


So I’m back to using Cox for my internet. It’s a good service for the most part. But a new problem has come up.

I bought Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn yesterday. It was on sale on Amazon, and I’d heard good things, so I thought I’d try it. But a problem began as soon as I Started downloading it. Basically, every 3 to 10 minutes, my internet freezes up and stops working. I can watch as my modem’s lights flash and reset, and then everything comes back up. This process only takes a minute, but as you can imagine, when downloading an 11 gig file, every minute matters. Plus the game wasn’t completely saving all the download progress, so that was its own form of annoyance.

I spent several minutes on the phone with Cox’s techs trying to troubleshoot the problem, but we couldn’t figure out what was happening. According to what they could see, the signal was solid and “perfect” according to one tech. Of course the thing didn’t crash while I was on the phone with them. I’ve also noticed it only seems to happen when I’m downloading big files.

Now I am using a new modem, but I got that modem because my old one was a: old, and b: would frequently reset. I had only used it with Cox for a few days before upgrading, and these big files I’ve tried to download have only been in the last two days. So I’m not sure if the problem is the modem or the connection or what. I would just swap the old modem back on, but when I put on the new one, it took 25 minutes for Cox to authorize it. Very vexing.

So basically, does anyone have any suggestions here other than putting the old modem back on? Please let me know!

Leave a Reply

