Wherein I Get Credit-Frauded!


You know a term I hate? “Identity theft”. It conjures up images of someone pretending to be you! In all ways, in all days, they are pretending they’re you! Maybe they’re even sleeping with your spouse! Of course what it really is in the vast majority of cases is something called “credit fraud”. People pretend to be other people onto to the point where they can use their credit cards, or whatever, and get free stuff/money. Credit card companies prefer to use the scarier term “identity theft”, because simply calling it “credit fraud” allows people to basically shrug and say, “Eh, it’s the credit card company’s problem, not mine.”

Anyhow, regardless of what you call it, I got it earlier today. I logged onto my bank account prior to going to put some money into it, and lo! I saw a $50 charge from some company I won’t name selling herbal supplements. The mere idea that I’d use such a thing made me laugh. I’d never been to their website until their charge showed up. I’d never even heard of them. But now I know them, and I loathe them. I assume they’re a bunch of scammers, and I hope they get shut down and some people go away for a while.

In the meantime, I handled this by calling my bank. Took ten minutes, but now I have a new debit card on the way, and the old one is non-functional, and the money was put back into my account. A bit of a pain, but at least the problem’s fixed.

The moral of the story? Check your bank and credit accounts at least once a week, if not more often. You never know what interesting things you might find.

Leave a Reply

