Phoenix Comicon – After-Action Report


Well, that was a thing. I skipped much of Saturday because I’d only had about 5 hours of sleep, and much of Sunday, because, well, it was Sunday. But I was there for almost all of Thursday and Friday.

Overall, I had a pretty good time. My main panels, which were all Doctor Who-related, were very well-attended, with probably over 200 people in three or four of them. Even the smallest panels (a tie between my Big Finish panel and a Transformers panel), still had at least a few people show up, so that was nice. I also, as mentioned previously, got to meet and briefly chat with John Rhys Davies. So, really, it was a good convention for the most part.

However it wasn’t without problems. First, the con is getting way too big for the space allowed. It was projected to be about 70,000 people this year, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it hit 100,000 next year. We have, in only 14 conventions, reached the sort of numbers it took San Diego Comicon almost thirty years to reach. The crowd-management was almost acceptable this year, and having all the major escalators going down only, was fairly smart.

But, yet again, I noticed that there were security people checking backpacks and the like when folks came in, or at least trying to. I still question the point of this, given that in the exhibitor’s hall one can buy enough weapons to equip a small army.

Beyond that, as an occasional entertainment journalist, I was mildly vexed that there was no specific way to interview the various guests. I’ve suggested a fix for next year, and hopefully that will be a thing.

Overall, as I said, it was a good convention. Planning for next year is already happening, and I’m already looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

