Some Thoughts on “The Caretaker” and Other Recent Episodes


“Listen” was vexing, to begin with. I still don’t know how I feel about it, and I’ve had a couple of weeks to digest it. I’m still at least partly convinced that the kid at the end was the Master, not the Doctor, and that Danny Pink is the Master, too.

“Time Heist” was way easier to like.

“The Caretaker” I also enjoyed. Capaldi is turning in his usual excellent performance, and I very much liked the interplay between him and Danny. I especially appreciated that the “he’s an officer” conversation wasn’t played for laughs. It very easily could have been.

I also found Courtney to be an interesting character so far. She reminds me quite a bit of Ace, or rather, she did until she puked in the TARDIS. As far as I know, Ace never did that.

I also appreciated the little mention of River, though I am slightly irritated by the fact that the show has now staged an episode entirely at the Coal Hill School with no mention of Ian, Barbara or Susan. Come to that, how great would a cameo by William Russell have been? That said, I’m deeply happy that it took us this far into the season to get an episode that was set entirely on 21st century Earth.

So…there we go. Can’t wait for next week!

2 Responses to “Some Thoughts on “The Caretaker” and Other Recent Episodes”

  1. Robert Says:

    There was a line about 20 minutes in that episode: “You know, I used to have a teacher exactly like you”, while talking to Clara after he reveals the scanner. Don’t know if he was referring to Ian or Barbara, but there you go.


Leave a Reply

