Why I Can’t Wait for 2014 to End


2014 has been, according to many, a lousy year. I’ll explain tomorrow exactly why it wasn’t actually as bad as all that, and for the world as a whole, can be considered a good year. But it sucked crap for me. Why?

2014 is the first year in many where I’ve made less than $10,000.

2014 is the first year since 1998 where I had to go on food stamps.

In 2014 my last grandfather died, followed not long after by my step-grandmother. They were preceeded in death by Paul Spragg, my contact at Big Finish.

In 2014 my sister wound up in the hospital with Legionnaire’s Disease.

In 2014 my efforts at continuing college came to a halt, at least for now, and I find myself owing $42,000 without even a two-year degree to show for it.

2014 marked the first time in several years where I had to skip the Gallifrey convention.

2014 is the year where I passed the 280 lbs mark. Yikes!

2014 is the year continued to be stuck in a job that I, as a British diplomat would say, “rather dislike”.

Do I have much reason to assume that 2015 will be better? Perhaps not. But on the plus side, almost every single thing listed above is something that can happen to me only once. So perhaps the future will be better. I know I’ll certainly try to make it that way.

2 Responses to “Why I Can’t Wait for 2014 to End”

  1. Susan Says:

    I like your comment that most of these things can happen only once. Bad stuff in life is inevitable, like bad weather; no one gets to pass on it. The key is controlling how you respond to it and I think you’ve done the best you could under the circumstances. Here’s to a brighter 2015 for all of us!

  2. arthurthepanther Says:

    You’ve been nicknamed a badger for a reason. You’re tenacious, cunning, and strong, just like a badger. You’ll make it through the dark patch and wind up in a better place if anybody can. I believe in you.


Leave a Reply

