Sic Transit Leonard Nimoy – 1931 – 2015


1931 - 2015

1931 – 2015

When I was a young boy, my parents got divorced. Sometimes my dad would take advantage of his custody rights and my sister and I would go a few hours up north to visit him for a weekend. We did lots of fun things there, but the one that most sticks out in my mind is seeing Star Trek: The Motion Picture at a theater in what was probably very early 1980, though it could have been late 1979.

It was a problematical movie, as I think we’re all aware, but something about it stuck with me, despite the fact that I fell asleep partway through. I also vividly remember seeing Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan at my dad’s house a couple of years later. I’m not sure exactly when. Then in the mid 1980s, when my sister and I visited our dad in Alaska, I got to see Star Trek III: The Search for Spock.

Those memories are really the only coherent ones I have of my time with my dad back in that time period. And that probably gives you an idea of how big of a “thing” Star Trek in general wound up becoming in my life.

It wasn’t until 1986, when Star Trek: The Voyage Home came out and my love of the series was cemented. I read the novels, I watched the shows, I collected some of the merchandise. When TNG hit the TV screens, you can bit I was right there watching the first episode.

And yet today I took the news of Leonard Nimoy’s death with something of a sad shrug and went about my day. He was, after all, 83, and with the news that he’d gone into the hospital a few days ago, I was kind of expecting this. Plus I’ve been very aware that by the end of the decade him, William Shatner and Tom Baker would likely all be dead. So it’s unfortunate, but he had a good long life, and did indeed prosper.

Nimoy was by most accounts a good man, and he was certainly a good actor. Trek would not have been the success it was without him as Spock. He’s left an excellent legacy to the world, and really, that’s about all that I want to say on the subject. Aside from the obvious final line.

The human adventure is just beginning…

Leave a Reply

