Much to My Growing Horror


Something terrible and amazing appears to be happening. I have started my new job. It’s a good job, and I’m genuinely enjoying it so far. But the job requires that I be up and out of bed by 6:30 in the morning so as to be at my desk and ready to work by 8:00.

Since the 1990s, I’ve had jobs where I worked swing or graveyard shifts. Oh, I’d occasionally have to haul myself out of bed super-early for a training shift, or to go in early for someone. But that was rare. It’s not ever been something I’ve had to do on a daily basis.

And yet, here we are.

And much to my surprise…it seems that I might actually have been a morning person all these years.

You see, I find that I’m sleeping better by waking up in the mornings. Whereas I used to wake up two or three times a night, now it’s maybe once a night. Maybe. I also wake up much better rested, and ready to deal with the day, instead of blearily looking at my cell phone, resetting the alarm for an hour later, and dropping off again.

Yes, by the time my ride to work arrives, I’ve had breakfast, watched some morning news, sometimes even surfed the web. All at a time that, a month ago, was only a few hours after I would have gone to bed.

This is…weird. It’s welcome, I suppose, in that it makes my life easier. But…weird.

Posted in General. Tags: . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

