Things to Be Genuinely Happy About


I was going to write up a blog article about the attacks in Paris, and then I thought…no. It was a bad thing, and France’s response is going to play right into the hands of ISIS, just as our responses always do.

So instead of that, I thought I’d share a few fun, happy things that I’ve found out over the last week.

First off, and this is pretty much limited to a small group of people who will be made happy by it, Cloud Striffe is coming to Super Smash Bros.

This is great on several levels. First off, he’s always been a favorite character of mine (even while sulking constantly. At least he isn’t Squall). Plus he reminds me of someone I used to be involved with back about 15 years ago, and that’s no bad thing.

But also this is a great turning point for the relationship between Nintendo and Square-Enix. Back in the day, when they were just Square, they were going to developing Final Fantasy VII for Nintendo’s SNES successor system. That didn’t happen and things got…ugly. The bottom line is that for a very long time, there was nothing on any Nintendo system that was made by Square. That began changing a few years ago, and now we’re getting the culmination of that change, and that pleases me.

Of course, I’d be more pleased if Square-Enix could turn out a non-crappy FF game, but let’s not go insane here.

Another thing to be happy about? A resolution to a certain plotline in Doctor Who. You can read here for details, though be aware, Spoilers, ahoy!

You say you want some good news that doesn’t have to do with geek stuff? Pft. Fine. Ok, how about this? Polio is about to stop being a thing. This is excellent news. It stopped being a thing in the USA before I was born, with the result that I’ve only ever once met one person who was younger than me and who had had polio. In his case, he was raised in a Romanian orphanage, so…yeah. Polio was probably the least of what he had.

For those who want to continue to carp on vaccines and how terrible they are, let me remind you that because of vaccines, smallpox is on the ash heap of history and it’s quite likely that polio will soon be there, too.

Let’s turn to some happy political news. Trump is flaming out at long last. Carson is…well, just fucking weird. He’s leading in some key polls, but he won’t go anywhere in the long run. At this point, I’m willing to lay down money, though not much, that Rubio will be the nominee, which I’m sort-of ok with. He’s still more conservative than I’d like, but at least he’s not insane, and I can easily see him enjoying a nice, four year, caretaker term as president.

Of course, I still think that the next president will be Hillary Clinton. She’s really trouncing Sanders in the polls now, and barring something extremely unexpected, she’ll be the nominee. She’s a stronger candidate than any of the Republican set, and so I fully expect her to win.

Then of course, we have this to look forward to at the end of the year.

Yeah, I know we’ve been burned before, but it looks like this could really be an excellent movie. Disney rarely has any mis-steps, especially when it’s something this major, so hopefully it’ll be spectacular.

Lastly, here’s a cheerful little video with Jeremy Clarkson.

Oh, and in addition to all of this, you can, I suppose, focus on the fact that even now, the world is more at peace than ever before, poverty is decreasing, education is increasing, and the world is a pretty fucking amazing place to live in right now.

One Response to “Things to Be Genuinely Happy About”

  1. Jessie Says:

    I’m okay with Cloud. He’s pretty much only egregiously sulky in Advent Children. He’s actually pretty upbeat in FF7 itself, when the villain isn’t actively tearing his mind apart.


Leave a Reply

