It Is the End…


I started this blog back in 2008, during the Presidential primaries. Since then I’ve blogged at least a little on almost every subject you can think of, and had a generally good time doing it.

Originally I did daily blogging, but beginning last year, I faltered, and started to miss days here and there. Then finally came the time where I missed articles on a regular basis. This is only the third article for the entire month of December, for example; a month that ends shortly.

And so…I am done. The blog is finished. I might still publish the occasional special article here and there (live-blogging the SOTU, for example, or the debates and election results), but I’m done blogging regularly, and I suspect months will now go by without anything new. Consider this, I suppose, less of an Andrew Sullivan move, and more like the plans Roger Ebert had just before his death. “A leave of presence” he called it.

I’m also largely done writing articles and reviews for various websites. I’ve enjoyed doing it over the years, but the time has come for that to end. It’s become way more like work and a lot less like fun.

But fear not; I will still be around in some form. For example, I’m starting a blog to review Big Finish titles. I have no idea how often it’ll be updated, but take it from me: writing a review a week is way easier than writing an article a day, and I’m pretty sure it won’t devolve to me just posting up random videos.

So there you have it. Sic transit Blogging with Badger. Thank you everyone for reading over the years! Your comments and feedback were always welcome and wonderful, and I’ll miss those way more than just about anything else.

Stay badgery!

6 Responses to “It Is the End…”

  1. Sorin Suciu Says:

    That’s unexpected and sad. Best of luck in the new ventures!

  2. cmunro2014 Says:

    Will miss your erudite articles Mr Swanson. Wishing you every success in whatever comes your way in 2016

  3. PiedType Says:

    It’s supposed to be fun. Set it aside when it feels too much like work. It will be here if and when you feel the need to write again.

  4. Susan Says:

    I’ve enjoyed your articles — haven’t always agreed, but you’ve always made me think. Thanks for your efforts! And on to better things.

  5. john baker Says:

    Thanks Chris your blog has been brilliant,Look forward to your Big Finish reviews.

  6. Chris Says:

    Thanks for all the lovely feedback, everyone. 🙂


Leave a Reply

