Some Thoughts on Season One of The Grand Tour


I’m watching the season finale of Amazon’s similar-to-but-legally-distinct-from knock-off of Top Gear known as The Grand Finale. What have I thought of this first season?

the-grand-tour-episode-2-566439

In general, I’ve been very pleased. The formula is basically the same as it was with the BBC, ie: three lads screwing around with cars. On that level there’s no real difference from the old series.

But that’s a good thing. I like that. I liked Top Gear with May, Clarkson and Hammond, and I like what they’ve done here. It’s got the same “feel” and remains vastly entertaining.

There are some things I dislike. The “American” bit isn’t especially original or entertaining. It’s very one-note, really. The “Celebrity Brain Crash” bit has gotten old quickly, too.

But those complains aside,  I’ve enjoyed it quite a bit, and I really look forward to season two! Oh, and to a lesser extent, I look forward to the next series of Top Gear.

Leave a Reply

